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License Reactivation 
Respiratory Care/ Respiratory Care and Polysomnography/ Polysomnography Technologists 

Documentation Required for License Reactivation 
 

 Reactivation application and fee ($120). All application fees are nonrefundable. To apply, do one of the following:  
 

1. Create an account, apply and pay online at: 
https://ibplicense.iowa.gov/PublicPortal/Iowa/IBPL/common/index.jsp, OR 

2. Print, complete and return a paper application with a check or money order payable to the Iowa Board of 
Respiratory Care and Polysomnography: 
http://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/Files/Licensure/ReActivation%20Form%20%281.23.13%29.pdf.    

 
 License verification(s) from other states - If you practiced or were licensed in another state since your Iowa license went 

inactive, you must provide verification of licenses held in other states even if the out-of-state license is longer active. 
 

o Applicants that have been previously licensed, registered or certified in any other state must provide official 
verification of licensure in the other state(s). The license verification must include license issue date, expiration 
date and any pending or past disciplinary action. The verification may be printed from another state licensing 
board’s website if it contains all of the required information. If web based verification is not available, the 
verification must be send directly to the Board office by the state(s) where the applicant has been licensed, 
registered, or certified. If the applicant has never been licensed in another state, ignore this item. 

 
 Continuing Education Requirement –  

 
o You are exempt from continuing education requirements while your Iowa license was inactive if you: 

 Served honorably on active duty in the military service during the time your Iowa license was inactive; or 
 Resided in another state or district that has continuing education requirements for the profession and 

you continually met all requirements of that state or district for practice therein; or 
 Were a government employee working in the your licensed specialty and you were assigned to duty 

outside the United States; or 
 Were absent from the state but engaged in active practice under circumstances which are approved by 

the board. 
 

o If you are not exempt from the continuing education requirement, you must provide proof of the following, 
depending on how long the license has been inactive: 

 License has been inactive two years or less – provide proof of completion of 24 hours of continuing 
education. The hours must be taken within the two years immediately preceding submission of the 
reactivation application. 

 License has been inactive more than two years but fewer than five years – provide proof of completion 
of 24 hours of continuing education. The hours must be taken within the two years immediately 
preceding submission of the reactivation application. The licensee is also required to submit two 
completed sets of fingerprints to facilitate a national criminal history background check. Due to the 
length of time the license has been inactive, an additional background check fee of $55 is also required 
for a total fee of $175.  You may go to your local law enforcement agency for the required fingerprint 
cards and waiver application or you may obtain a packet from the board office that includes the 
fingerprint cards and a waiver application. 

 License has been inactive more than five years – provide proof of completion of 48 hours of continuing 
education. The hours must be taken within the two years immediately preceding submission of the 
reactivation application. The licensee is also required to submit two completed sets of fingerprints to 
facilitate a national criminal history background check. Due to the length of time the license has been 
inactive, an additional background check fee of $55 is also required for a total fee of $175.  You may go 
to your local law enforcement agency for the required fingerprint cards and waiver application or you 
may obtain a packet from the board office that includes the fingerprint cards and a waiver application. 

 

 If you answer “Yes” to any of the disciplinary questions on the reactivation application, you must provide (1) a signed 
letter of explanation providing the details of the incident, (2) a copy of court ordered evaluations (if any), showing 
completion and recommendations, and (3) a copy of all official court documents regarding your conviction, including 
final disposition and/or settlement.  
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