Board of Barbering - About Staff & Board

Board Staff

The Iowa Board of Barbering is staffed by both a Board Executive and a Secretary in the Bureau of Professional Licensure, Iowa Department of Public Health.

Contact Information:
Iowa Board of Barbering
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Bldg., 5th Floor
321 East 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075
Phone (515) 281-0254
FAX (515) 281-3121

Office Hours:
8:00 am to 4:30 pm
Monday through Friday, excluding state holidays

Board Members

The Board is made up of three members licensed to practice the profession, and two members that represent the general public that are not licensed to practice the profession.

Board members:

  • serve three-year terms (unless filling an unexpired term),
  • appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate,
  • serve no more than nine years (three full terms).

Iowa Board of Barbering

  • Valerie Felton - 2019 (2)
  • John Anderson - 2020 (3) Public Member
  • Rebecca Brockmann - 2018 (1) - Public Member
  • Terry Moll - 2020 (2)
  • Daniel Butler - 2019 (1)

How to Become a Board Member

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Board, you just need to fill out the proper forms and submit them.

You can find the information you need through the Governor's Office.