
 

Iowa Board of Respiratory Care and Polysomnography Guidance 
Related to Governor Reynold’s Proclamations & COVID-19 

 
Governor Kim Reynolds has issued a Proclamation of Emergency Disaster.  In this Proclamation, 
Governor Reynolds temporarily suspended a number of regulatory provisions applicable to various 
professions.  The full text of the Proclamation is available on the Governor’s website.  The Board 
issues the following guidance regarding the Proclamation: 

 
Emergency Licenses:  

The Board has determined that current students and graduates of respiratory care programs may 
qualify for an emergency license. Graduates will need to verify completion of a respiratory care 
program. Current students will need an attestation from their respiratory care program that they 
are competent to perform entry level respiratory care services. An emergency license will allow 
an individual to practice respiratory care for the duration of the Proclamation only. Emergency 
licensees are authorized to provide basic, entry level services, in an effort to free up more 
experienced licensees to assist in critical care situations. Emergency licensees should only be 
assigned procedures that the employer feels the emergency licensee can safely perform based on 
their education.  

Applications for emergency license should complete the regular application form and have the 
education institution send the attestation letter to plpublic@idph.iowa.gov 

https://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Respiratory-Care/Licensure. 

License Renewal 

The Board office is still processing renewals at this time. Licensees are not required to renew for 
the duration of the Proclamation.  Licensees who wish to renew as scheduled are encouraged to 
renew using the online system. You will have 60 days after the Proclamation expires to renew your 
license without penalty.  

Continuing Education 

 Licensees have until June 30, 2021 to complete the continuing education required for license 
renewal.  Licensees may renew prior to completing the required continuing education.  In order to 
complete the renewal application, licensees will need to attest to completion of the required 
continuing education.  Licensees should attest to the completion of the required hours if they have 
completed, or plan to complete, the required continuing education by June 30, 2021.  

Licensees are reminded that all of the required continuing education may be obtained through 
distance education. 

Additional information 
 

• If you hold a license that is currently inactive, you may return to practice without 
reactivating your inactive license if it has not been expired for more than 5 years. If your 
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license has been expired for more than 5 years, you will need to complete the reactivation 
process before returning to practice.  
 

• If you apply for a license that requires a background check, your application will be 
processed prior to performing the background check for the duration of the Proclamation. 
You will still be sent a fingerprint packet after you submit your application, but you do 
not need to return the completed fingerprint packet until after the expiration of the 
Proclamation. You will have 60 days after the Proclamation expires to return your 
completed fingerprint packet to the Board office.   

 

  


