X
GO

Bureau of HIV, STD, and Hepatitis

 

Mission Statement

Promoting and protecting the health of Iowans at risk of or infected with HIV, sexually transmitted diseases, and/or viral hepatitis.

Vision Statement

Healthy Iowans living in healthy communities.

The Bureau of HIV, STD, and Hepatitis works to reduce the impact of communicable diseases in Iowa and to eliminate the morbidity associated with these diseases. Prevention and care services target chlamydia, syphilis, gonorrhea, HIV/AIDS, and hepatitis A, B, and C. Programs within the bureau guide community-based prevention planning, monitor current infectious disease trends, prevent transmission of infectious diseases, provide hepatitis A and B immunizations for adults, provide early detection and treatment for infected persons, and ensure access to health care persons in Iowa. Staff from the Sexually Transmitted Disease (STD), HIV/AIDS, and Adult Viral Hepatitis Prevention Programs partner with local public health departments, private health care agencies, disease prevention specialists, and community-based organizations to interrupt the disease transmission process and provide access to testing, treatment, immunizations, and prevention programs.

 

Bureau Contact Information

Bureau Chief
Phone Email
Randy Mayer 515-242-5150 randall.mayer@idph.iowa.gov
     
Contracts and Budgets
   
Name Phone Email
Karen Quinn, Contract and Budget Specialist 515-281-6801 karen.quinn@idph.iowa.gov 
     
HIV and Hepatitis Prevention Program
   
Name Phone Email
Patricia Young, Program Manager 515-242-5838 patricia.young@idph.iowa.gov
Cody Shafer, EIS/PrEP Coordinator 515-443-0341 cody.shafer@idph.iowa.gov 
Vacant, Evaluation Coordinator    
     
STD Program
   
Name Phone Email
George Walton, Program Manager 515-281-4936 george.walton@idph.iowa.gov
Kelli Campbell, PCSI Data Analyst 515-281-4571 kelli.campbell@idph.iowa.gov
Jo Mostrom, Data Coordinator 515-281-3031 joanne.mostrom@idph.iowa.gov
Colleen Bornmueller, CBSS Coordinator 515-288-9028 Ext 15 cbornmueller@fpcouncil.com
Disease Intervention Specialists (Field Staff)
Shannon Wood, Lead, Iowa City 319-358-1834 shannon.wood@idph.iowa.gov
Mary Costello, Davenport 563-326-8216 mary.costello@idph.iowa.gov
Ariel Langtimm, Des Moines 515-725-2680 ariel.langtimm@idph.iowa.gov
Jodie Liebe, Sioux City 712-234-3926 jodie.liebe@idph.iowa.gov
Gina Mallett, Waterloo 319-292-2235 gina.mallett@idph.iowa.gov
Linda McQuinn, Council Bluffs 712-328-3194 linda.mcquinn@idph.iowa.gov
Maggi Vodraska, Des Moines 515-281-6087 maggi.vodraska@idph.iowa.gov
     
Data Program
   
Name Phone Email
Nicole Kolm-Valdivia, Program Manager 515-281-6974 nicole.kolm-valdivia@idph.iowa.gov
Shane Scharer, Hepatitis Data Coordinator 515-281-5027 shane.scharer@idph.iowa.gov
Alagie Jatta, HIV Surveillance Coordinator 515-281-6918 alagie.jatta@idph.iowa.gov
Jessica Morris, Re-engagement Coordinator/ Epidemiologist 515-242-5141 jessica.morris@idph.iowa.gov
     
Ryan White HIV Care Program 
   
Name Phone Email
Holly Hanson, Program Manager 515-242-5316 holly.hanson@idph.iowa.gov
Elizabeth (Biz) McChesney, Client Services Coordinator 515-242-5149 biz.mcchesney@idph.iowa.gov 
Meredith Heckmann, ADAP Coordinator 515-725-2011 meredith.heckmann@idph.iowa.gov
Katie Herting, Quality Coordinator 515-281-4775 katie.herting@idph.iowa.gov
Vacant, Benefits and Enrollment Specialist    
Sandra Brasell-Jasa, Trauma-Informed Care Coordinator 515-244-2200 X 7 sandra.brasell-jasa@idph.iowa.gov
Joe Caldwell, HIV and Substance Use Coordinator 515-326-4955 joe.caldwell@idph.iowa.gov
Jamesetta Mator, Health Equity Coordinator 515-326-4678 jamesetta.mator@idph.iowa.gov
Jenna Sheldon, Communications Specialist 515-401-4012 jenna.sheldon@idph.iowa.gov
Rural Outreach Liaisons (Field Staff)
Lexie Hach, Lead, Ottumwa 515-401-6420 lexie.hach@idph.iowa.gov
Darla Peterson, Lead, Storm Lake 515-401-7114 darla.peterson@idph.iowa.gov
Kathy Dooley, Marshalltown 515-601-0143 kathy.dooley@idph.iowa.gov
Mary Hightower, Burlington 515-601-0142 mary.hightower@idph.iowa.gov
Kate Hoskins, Clinton 515-829-0226 kate.hoskins@idph.iowa.gov
Effie Hill, Fort Dodge 515-314-2337 effie.hill@idph.iowa.gov
Grace Pellot, Clarinda 515-981-3207 grace.pellot@idph.iowa.gov

 

"This site contains HIV prevention messages that may not be appropriate for all audiences.”