Division of Tobacco Use Prevention and Control
The mission of the Division of Tobacco Use Prevention and Control is to establish a comprehensive partnership among state government, local communities, and the people of Iowa to foster a social and legal climate in which tobacco use becomes undesirable and unacceptable.
Who We Are
Tobacco is the leading preventable cause of death for Iowans, taking the lives of more than 5,100 adults each year. Estimated annual health care costs in Iowa directly related to tobacco use now total $1 billion. The Division of Tobacco Use Prevention and Control works to reduce tobacco use and the toll of tobacco-caused disease and death by preventing youth from starting, helping adults and youth to quit, and preventing exposure to secondhand smoke.
To achieve these goals, the Division follows Centers for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC) guidelines for comprehensive tobacco control programs. State-level initiatives include Quitline Iowa cessation services, youth tobacco-use prevention programming and enforcement of Iowa's Smokefree Air Act. Local tobacco control programs, called Community Partnerships, support tobacco control initiatives at the community level. The Division also conducts ongoing surveillance of tobacco use by youth and adults in Iowa.
Tobacco use is still the single greatest preventable cause of death and disease in Iowa. However, our communities are working in a variety of ways to reduce tobacco’s harm by:
- Eliminating tobacco-related health disparities
- Keeping youth and young adults from starting
- Reducing exposure to secondhand smoke
- Helping people quit
Tobacco 21- Tobacco Age to Purchase Update July 2020
On December 20, 2019, federal legislation was signed by President Trump raising the age for sales of tobacco products from age 18 to 21 under federal law. This federal legislation bars retailers from selling tobacco products- including cigarettes, cigars, and e-cigarettes- to anyone under age 21.
On June 29th, 2020 Governor Reynolds signed legislation which increased the state minimum age to purchase tobacco, alternative nicotine and vapor products from 18 to 21 years. State of Iowa law is now reflective of the federal minimum age to purchase which was raised on December 20, 2019. Retailers must not sell, give or supply any tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, or cigarettes to anyone under the age of 21 years.
Jerilyn Oshel, Division Director
Lucas State Office Building
321 E 12th St
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0075